Faculty‎ > ‎Faculty News‎ > ‎

February 2011 - Music Department

posted Feb 7, 2011, 11:06 AM by Terry Ann Morris
The Department of Music presented the Sixth Annual Harper Chamber Music Festival on Saturday evening, January 22 to a large and enthusiastic audience in the Performing Arts Center. Greg Clemons, Chair of the Department of Music, is the founder, artistic director, and conductor for the annual event that features members of the artist faculty in the music department. This year's faculty performers included Hideko Amano, flute; Lacy Schroeder-Garbar, clarinet; Susan Lundholm, soprano; Janice Larson Razaq, piano; Debra Freedland, oboe; Tim Shaffer, double bass; Paul Ross, drums; and Olga Bornovalova, piano. The theme of this year's program was Celebrating Beethoven, and included two major chamber ensemble works by the great German master, as well as music of composers Claude Debussy, Sergei Rachmaninoff, and Claude Bolling.